top of page

Memory of a Broken Dimension Torrent: A Dark and Atmospheric Game with Glitch Art



Someone recommended this to me about a year ago while I was working on my diploma work (vr and mixed media installation) at an art school. I'm not really a person who plays video games but memory of a broken dimension changed something in me, starting from the fact that I felt beaten down and extremely inspired at the same time because someone had already created something that I so wanted to create.


France was defeated, broken in body and spirit, at the end of the bloody Franco-Prussian War in 1871. The comfort and beauty of landscape paintings was a balm, a boost to morale. Jules Castagnary, a critic at the time, commented, "Landscape remains the strength and glory of our French school. Although the jury went through it like a plow through a green field, there are still enough beautiful examples to prove to foreigners that we have not degenerated, at least not in this area." Corot became a poet of landscape painting with images like this, the women walking beside the torrential river representing the peace and wellness of the French after the war.




Memory of a Broken Dimension Torrent

2ff7e9595c


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page